My Recovery Tools

I’m in the midst of a pretty solid sick day today. I emailed my boss that I wouldn’t be in, and have quite successfully been lying in bed all day. I feel really weird– like, zero energy, scratchy throat, intermittently hungry and not hungry (basically there are no hunger cues, just feelings), and pretty hot all around. I’m pretty sure if I walked around for too long I’d fall down. What is going on??

So, since my brain is funky, I thought I’d post some pictures for you of some of the recovery tools I have in my apartment. Maybe they’ll inspire or inform!


T

This is my cabinet for dry food, bowls, plates, etc. On the left are my quotes, on the right is my weekly meal plan.

My fridge. Cards with kind words, my ED Me/Soul Self chart, and a dry erase board for of-the-moment thoughts.

My “lockbox.” Decorated with quotes from friends about how great I am, pictures that make me happy, etc.

Inside my “lockbox”. Meal Plan templates, coloring items and craft supplies, crosswords, etc.

Well, I just placed an order to get some food delivered (never done that before!!) so I’m gonna lie back. This took a surprisingly long time! I’m still new to this blog thing.

xo, B

“Yet you could feel a vibration in the air, a sense of hastening. It had started with the moon, inaccessible poem that it was. Now men had walked upon it, rubber treads on a pearl of the gods. Perhaps it was an awareness of time passing, the last summer of the decade. Sometimes I just wanted to raise my hands and stop. But stop what? Maybe just growing up.”
–Patti Smith

(Have you read JUST KIDS? Oh my god, it’s remarkable. Everyone read it.)

Leave a Reply

