Biggest Night of the Year, y’all!

Oscar Night!! (Also my last day at my current job, but priorities, people)

I feel actually pretty shitty at the moment (I had some “behaviors” last night, plus I’m all crampy and moody), but I’m gonna try and leave that on the red carpet.

My picks for the wins!

Best Picture“The King’s Speech”
(although I think that Social Network should win for various cultural reasons)

Actor in a Leading Role
Colin Firth in “The King’s Speech”
(no contest.)

Actor in a Supporting Role
Christian Bale in “The Fighter”
(again, no contest. Sorry Geoffrey.)

Actress in a Leading Role
Natalie Portman in “Black Swan”
(she will win. I don’t think she should. It’s Annette Bening’s year, and probably the last chance she’ll ever have. It’s going to be a bittersweet one.)

Actress in a Supporting Role

This could be any lady’s game. Really. I am rooting for Melissa Leo, but they could go crazy with a Helena Bonham Carter, or crazier with Hailee Steinfeld, whose only other credit is a Kmart commercial. She was good, but like, guys, really?

Animated Feature Film
“Toy Story 3” Lee Unkrich
(WERE there other animated movies?)

Art Direction
“Inception”

Cinematography
“Inception,” Wally Pfister
(he’s up against the big dogs, but I think the Academy likes Inception)

Director
“The Social Network,” David Fincher

Documentary (Feature)
“Restrepo,” Tim Hetherington and Sebastian Junger
(good category this year. I think Restrepo’s the one, though.)

Film Editing
“Black Swan”
“The Fighter”
“The King’s Speech”
“127 Hours”
“The Social Network”
(Jesus. I have no idea.)

Foreign Language Film
“Dogtooth,” Greece
(to be honest, this is the only one I’ve seen.)

Music (Original Song)
“I See the Light” from “Tangled,” Music by Alan Menken Lyric by Glenn Slater
(just because Big Al’s daughter was my best friend in high school. I don’t actually think he’ll win.)

Sound Editing
“Inception,” Richard King

Visual Effects
“Inception,” Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley and Peter Bebb

Adapted Screenplay
“The Social Network,” Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin

Original Screenplay
“The King’s Speech,” Screenplay by David Seidler

What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

