Miserable Monday

Hello, blog land. Tomorrow is Monday, and the worst Monday of all because it is the Monday after a week of break. EEW! I’m not sure what my posting schedule will be like this week (not that I have a posting schedule in general), but I wanted to give a brief update today just in case I don’t post again till NEXT Sunday.

So I’m dreading school tomorrow, but with my severe senioritis, that’s nothing new. My brain is forever in “nonprofit-land,” which is where it wants to be, not “is theatre holy?-land” or “Michael Cain Acting for Film-land.” For about four hours today, I scoured the internet for potential major donors. I found an AMAZING website that allows you to search for campaign contributors by zip code. It tells you their name, their employer, and how much they gave (and who they gave to, though that’s less important). It’s like a who’s who of New York philanthropy. I started with the zip code of my school (since most of the company is based out of the school) and just pounded that shit out. I’m hoping that if even ONE person from this mega-list I’m forming thinks we look interesting, then that’s a success. On Thursday, my colleague and I will create the language for our fundraising (i.e. clarifying mission statement, press release, donor letter, fundraising appeals, etc). It’s all happening!!

Anyway, since I’m a little brain pooped and I don’t have all night (my best friend and her roommate have bedbugs in their apartment, so they’re staying tonight with me… so I have to wait up for them to get here. NOT my favorite thing. I prefer my space totally solo), I found a little actor-y quiz. I’m still going to be super vague, but whatevski, I find these things fun, if totally self-indulgent.

P.S. My family, including grandmother and sister,  is leaving for Mexico tomorrow. Without me. I’ve never been to Mexico, or anywhere tropical for vacation. I hate them.

Where are you from? Born in New Hampshire, but moved to a great state in the Rocky Mountain West at age 6. I consider myself a Western girl in spirit.
When did you decide that you wanted to be an actor? I think I always knew I wanted to be a performer of some kind, but I recall that at age seven or so I saw my first play, the national tour of Les Miserables. I recall distinctly reading the bio of the Young Cosette, and thinking impetuously, “I can do that. And I’m better than her.”
What is your favorite role that you have played? Hard. Probably the title role in the “play with songs” that I did last year was what I would call my “tour-de-force.”
What is a role you want to play? My pat answer is any Tennessee Williams heroine. I’d also love to do Chekhov. And when I’m 40 I better be cast as Barbara in August: Osage County. “I’M RUNNING THINGS NOW!”
What is the best project you have been on and why? I’d have to say the show my company did in the Fringe Festival last summer. We built it completely ourselves, and people LOVED it. It was the first time that I’d really created something with my peers, and the rewards were insane.
Who is your favorite actor and actress? What a hard one! I’m trying to think of people I’d drop anything to see. Of course I love Meryl Streep, but to dig a little deeper… I’d drop anything to see Amy Morton (track back to “I’M RUNNING THINGS NOW!”), and also to see Michael Shannon. Brilliance.
Is there an actor that you style yourself after? They asked this question in my Senior Audition class.  My answer was Carey Mulligan, Marin Ireland, and Lily Rabe.
What is your favorite play and why? King Lear is my favorite Shakespeare, which is a category unto itself, and Angels in America is probably my favorite straight play. It is so genuinely theatrical, so epic, so total, and so powerful. I guess if we’re saying straight play, I have to name a musical too, so I’ll say Next to Normal. Or really anything Sondheim.

What advice do you have for someone that is thinking about acting as a career? If you can do anything else besides theatre, DO IT. But if you can’t, then fight for it with all your might. Make it. Make it yours.

Do you have any other things that keep you busy? I love to read. I love movies. I have a very active psychological appointment schedule, haha.
Do you have another job or are you exclusively an actor? I’m an administrative assistant, and just left a job at an organic cafe.
JAMES LIPTON 10
What is your favorite word? Envelope is the stock answer.
What is your least favorite word? Anything that people in Harlem say to me on the street when I wear shorts.
What turns you on? Earnestness and humor.
What turns you off? Cockiness
What sound do you love? Wind going through trees.
What sound do you hate? Styrofoam. In fact, I hate everything about styrofoam.
What is your favorite curse word? Fuck. It’s just universal.
What profession other than yours would you like to attempt? Chef. Dancer. Law and Order: SVU detective.
What profession would you not like to do? Those people who I see on the street corner in backpacks with Greenpeace or Gay Rights clipboards who I know mean well but who cause me to pull out my cell phone and fake a conversation when I pass them so they’ll leave me alone.
If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates? “Hey Becca, welcome to heaven! Here are all the dogs you’ve ever loved!”
Goodnight, dears.
B
I mean, let’s be real: “I’M RUNNING THINGS NOW!”
— August: Osage County by Tracy Letts
Leave a Reply

