“Snot” my best day

Hello friends!

Hope your week has been better than mine. I’ve just been in a crappy mood, as is obvious from my last post. Today was a big day full of talking and interacting with other human beings, which is exactly the opposite of what I wanted to do. Therapy, then nutritionist, then endless work on theatre company stuff with colleague, then a show at my school. I was out of my house with no break from 10:30am to 9:30pm. But I managed to get through the day with a minimum of wanting to die. I’m hoping that this is the beginning of a turnaround for the better. The bad news is: I’m getting sick, I think.

Luckily the week is almost over and I’m hoping to really take good care of myself this weekend. Some candle-lighting, maybe I’ll try and see a show on Sunday, maybe just veg and try really hard not to get any sicker.

….

And now it’s Friday evening. How did that happen? Anyway, I still feel kinda crappy, even though emotionally I’m doing a bit better. Boy, I don’t know what to write. Honestly I don’t have the energy for much else, but I don’t want to make the blog super boring…

Alright, here’s a picture of the woman I met today in my Senior Audition class (she’s a grad of my school, and YES, she is that charismatic and gorgeous)

Patricia Clarkson

Some of my favorite things she said:

“In the theatre, the playwright is in the room. But in film, the screenwriter is miles away, drunk. Seriously, he’s out there in drunk because in film they just don’t care, and that’s sad. The playwrights in the theatre just get drunk later.”

“I walk with my characters… It’s not hitting me as words, it’s hitting me as emotions.”

“Acting is a craft, and our goal is always to lift it to art.”

“If I’m gonna be naked, it better be big and it better be great, and it better be on top of Sir Ben [Kingsley, in Elegy].”

“I often do movies that four people see, but I don’t care. I love those four people!”

“There is no character you will pay that you don’t know.”

“Let the character be IN you, not ON you.”

“If your friends don’t believe in you, then don’t be friends. You need every ally you can get.”

Well, that’s plenty of quotes for tonight. Wish me luck with my snot.
B

Leave a Reply

