The American Jailbait

I am a star. Guess who woke up at 8am, cracked open the laptopmy laptop, and went to town on my Theatre, Creativity and Values paper. I dominated. Was done by 9:15am. Freire, Boal, and Brecht, oh my!

So now I’m sippin’ coffee, watching Greek on Netflix Instant. It’s a silly ABC Family show, but considering, it’s actually kind of pleasant. I’m on Season 5 now, and something amazing I noticed in the last season or two is that the main girl, played by Spencer Grammer, has gotten curvier than she was in the first few seasons. She’s still skinny mini, but she has a butt and hips. She looks gorgeous. And the best part is, it seems to me that it is not much of an issue at all, either in online forums or on the show. Greek does have a fair number of weight jabs (it is about sororities, after all), but the fact that  the character Casey’s weight gain has gone unmentioned is a really good thing, I think. (although I hate that I noticed it)

So May 9 and 10 is my class’ Senior Showcase. This is when all of use each present two scenes that “showcase” who we are in the theatre business for agents, casting directors, producers, and directors. It’s a BIG day for us. I don’t have much else to say today, so do you guys want to know my two scenes? I love them. Here are pictures of the actual scenes in other productions:


The American Plan

TThat’s Lily Rabe and Kieran Campion in the Broadway production. It’s 1960s Catskills– she’s a psychologically unsound Sarah Lawrence dropout who is completely controlled by her German-Jewish immigrant mother. It’s very Richard Greenberg (oh, plus, spoiler alert, his lover shows up later)

Jailbait

I play the girl on the right with the wine bottle. This kind of great, fairly distressing play is about two high school sophomores who dress up and go out to a bar to meet two older men. Obviously, disaster ensues. My character seems super confident and controlling of the other girl, but she needs her friend just as much as her friend needs her. Subtle desperation. I’m good at that. 🙂

Alright, gonna keep sippin’ on the coffee and choosin’ what I want to do today.

Bye loves!

B

“It’s just that there was no preparing for you… if I’d had a year or two, maybe then I’d be ready…”
–THE AMERICAN PLAN

“It gets less scary the more you drink.”
–JAILBAIT

One thought on “The American Jailbait

  1. Pingback: So Long, Farewell, 30 Rock « twirlinggirl

Leave a Reply

