Make My Day

“Hi, I’m sorry, I know you’re with your friends. But I have to ask you– you look very familiar. Did you play Sarita? I want you to know that you were remarkable. It was an incredible performance. My friends and I were so moved afterward that we couldn’t come up and talk to you and congratulate you. What a powerful show. I loved your work and I love what you do. You’re going to have a fantastic career.”
— a woman after a show at my ex-school, about a performance I gave over 2 years ago.

And that, folks, is how someone makes your day. And also a lesson to all of us that if you feel strongly about someone, if you enjoyed their work or appreciate them, TELL THEM. It may seem weird, but everyone needs to hear that they’ve touched someone.

Hope everyone is doing alright out there :). Sorry I’ve been MIA. Hope to be more regularly back soon.

B.

“Happiness is like a butterfly which, when pursued, is always beyond our grasp, but, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.” –Nathaniel Hawthorne

One thought on “Make My Day

  1. What a lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

