Road Trippin’

 

I’m currently on an Amtrak train headed to DC for literally a couple of hours to audition to play this sexy role:

Lavinia in Titus Andronicus

(Lavinia from Titus Andronicus)

It’s an expensive jaunt for a brief 5 minutes of being seen, but I have always wanted to play this role. Plus, I have a feeling that only the die-hard will make the jaunt to DC for these regional auditions (the theatre isn’t even in DC… which REALLY doesn’t make sense). We shall see.

I mean, I happen to love trains. Flying sucks, but trains calm me for some reason. 7 hours roundtrip train travel =

1. Blogging!
2. Working on my lines/script
3. Reading Conducting a Life (an amazing book of essays about my hero, Irene Fornes)
4. Eating a whole wheat bagel with tofu cream cheese (worth it)
5. Making a shopping list
6. Avoiding eye contact with anyone who looks like they want to take the seat next to mine.

And through all of this, I get to watch the Northeast fly by. I have seen Jersey, and up next is Pennsylvania– a state I’ve never been in. And finally, Washington, DC, our nation’s capitol, which I have never seen. Even better, my audition is in the Folger Shakespeare Library (like a boss), which is a block away from the capitol building. YES. PLEASE.

Have you guys ever traveled a long distance for something seemingly small? Was it worth it?

–B.

“What is that feeling when you’re driving away from people and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? – it’s the too-huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”
Jack Kerouac, On the Road

One thought on “Road Trippin’

  1. Good luck with your audition and enjoy the journey to DC! I am also a huge fan of traveling by train… there is something peaceful and romantic about it. It should allow you to arrive for your audition calm and completely prepared.

    Several years ago I interviewed for a fellowship in a different city… drove for hours, stayed in a hotel, prepared for days, created a portfolio of my work… all for a 15 minute preliminary interview. My advice is to enjoy the journey and experience, and not question the investment. I ended up getting (and loving!) the fellowship, but I was determined to make the most of those three days regardless.

Leave a Reply

