#DCforaday: A Journey in Tweets

New BFF: SWAT man Mike. He even switched his machine gun to his left hand to give me a handshake!

#DCforaday

I know I’m not supposed to touch them, but those bomb-sniffing dogs are SO cute!

#DCforaday

I ignored the Bible exhibit at the Folger, instead standing over my bible, Shakespeare’s First Folio, and bursting into tears.

#DCforaday

At the Reflecting Pool, all I can think of is a youngMorgan Jenness falling in during MLK’s “I Have a Dream” speech.

#DCforaday

P.S. That’s actually a true story. Morgan was my old theatre history prof, and arguably she is one of the most important people in the theatre– a playwright/director’s agent (incl. for my hero Irene Fornes & every other important young playwright/director in existence) and a theatre-goer about town. ANYWAY, as a young, young kid growning up DC, her dad took her to the March where MLK gave his “Dream” speech. She was bored, and was playing by the reflecting pool. SHE. FELL. IN. during the speech. Epic.

Literally every old thing I’ve ever wanted to ogle through panes of glass is within a mile of me right now.

#DCforaday

I should totally have come here for Halloween! All of my childhood costumes did have an American History theme.

#DCforaday

SO. All in all, totally worth it. And only having an hour of rehearsal tonight was really nice… it was a break.

Oh, and my audition went really well. Who knows, and I have to let it go and think negatively or else I’ll get disappointed, but I felt very good. Which is nice. 🙂

I can’t wait to go back to DC and actually see everything I want to see. Like I told my friends in rehearsal (mostly to tease the ones who tease me): “It’s literally the nerdiest place on the planet. It’s nerd Disneyworld. I had to force myself to go to the train station early so that I wouldn’t lose control and go museum-hopping.” I do love museums!!

Have you guys ever been to DC? It’s actually kind of magical, I think…

Hasta manana,
B.

“Look at the sky: that is for you. Look at each person’s face as you pass on the street: those faces are for you. And the street itself, and the ground under the street, and the ball of fire underneath the ground: all these things are for you. There are as much for you as they are for other people. Remember this when you wake up in the morning and think you have nothing.”
―
Miranda July, No One Belongs Here More Than You

Leave a Reply

